Ohio State roundup: Tennis team wins Big Ten title

High Contrast Normal Version

For the ninth consecutive year, the Ohio State men’s tennis team won the outright Big Ten championship.

The top-ranked Buckeyes (26-3, 10-0) clinched the title with a 7-0 win over Iowa yesterday at the Varsity Tennis Courts.

Ohio State improved its NCAA home win-streak record to 188 consecutive matches and now has 13 conference championships. The Buckeyes have not lost in 92 regular-season league matches.

Hunter Callahan sealed the victory with a 6-2, 6-3 win over Dominic Patrick of the Hawkeyes (9-13, 1-9) on the fifth singles court. Callahan leads OSU with 28 wins and seven match points claimed.


Tanner Tully pitched seven innings and struck out four to lead Ohio State (22-17) to a 4-1 nonconference win over Murray State at Bill Davis Stadium.

A Troy Kuhn sacrifice fly scored Nick Sergakis for a 1-0 lead in the first inning against the Thoroughbreds (16-19).

Pat Porter followed with a sacrifice fly in the third to push the Buckeyes’ lead to 2-0 and added an RBI triple in the sixth to complete the scoring.

Trace Dempsey struck out three in his two innings to earn the save.


Please Share Your Zip Code

To listen to 97.1 The Fan or ESPN 1460AM we ask that you provide a zip code so that we may give you the best audio connection possible.

Please enter your zip code:

No thanks