College basketball notebook: Big Ten, Big East will play series starting in 2015

High Contrast Normal Version

The Big Ten and Big East will begin a series of eight games in the first week of the 2015-16 season, and the multiday event will be named for the late Dave Gavitt.

The games will take place the first Tuesday through Friday of the regular season and will be played at home sites, four from each conference. The original series is for eight years.

The matchups for the inaugural Gavitt Tipoff Games will be announced after next season. Gavitt, a Naismith Memorial Hall of Famer, founded the Big East.

Each of the 10 Big East teams will participate a minimum of six times over the eight years, and the Big Ten schools will participate a minimum of four times with the conference expanding to 14 members next season.

The Big Ten said it will continue its series with the Atlantic Coast Conference.

A person familiar with the plans said the Big Ten will announce today that its men’s basketball tournament is going to be held at Washington’s Verizon Center in 2017.

The 2017 Big Ten tournament will be the conference’s 20th for basketball.

Oregon State fired coach Craig Robinson after six seasons without making the NCAA tournament.

Robinson, the brother-in-law of President Barack Obama, went 94-105 with Oregon State.

Please Share Your Zip Code

To listen to 97.1 The Fan or ESPN 1460AM we ask that you provide a zip code so that we may give you the best audio connection possible.

Please enter your zip code:

No thanks